Intangible Cultural Heritage in Austria

Experiential Knowledge Concerning Avalanche Risk Management

Applicant: Alpinarium und Gemeinde Galtür, Lawinenkommission Gargellen, Montafoner Museen, Österreichischer Alpenverein, Österreichischer Berg- und Schiführerverband
Province: Carinthia, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Vorarlberg
Domain: Practices concerning nature

The natural environment of the Alps forces its inhabitants to pay a great deal of attention to the highly complex phenomenon of the avalanche. Since the very beginning of human beings’ presence in the Alpine region, it has been necessary to acquire knowledge about avalanches in order to survive there. To this day, avalanches cannot be perfectly predicted or fully assessed by scientific means. Therefore, having experiential knowledge of how to deal with the associated risks is all the more important. Some of this experiential knowledge is site-specific and gets passed on by alpine organisations, within families, and/or by schools. In earlier times, such knowledge was acquired through close observation of nature and the painful learning process that avalanche disasters entailed. And for many hundreds of years, this experiential knowledge was conveyed and handed down orally from generation to generation. Since the beginning of the 20th century, and especially since the 1950s, such knowledge has been supplemented by scientific research. This has made it possible to successively improve the protection of inhabited areas and transport routes over the course of time, and today, knowledge about dealing with avalanche risks is taught and/or applied in the contexts of general safety, education, technology, and rescue services by local and super-regional communities.

Knowledge of the risks posed by avalanches dates to as far back as human beings’ initial settlement and use of the Alps. For the most part, such knowledge is passed on orally—within families and affected occupational communities (hunters, farmers, etc.). This tradition’s manifestations include popular folk sayings, and the naming of annually recurring avalanches after specific locations and farms likewise expresses a strong relationship with this natural phenomenon. Written documentation of avalanches in the Alps goes back as far as the 17th century, with attention given above all to those that affected human property or human life. In Vorarlberg’s Montafon valley, for example, 200 years of avalanche disasters are recorded in the form of so-called Lawinenbriefe [avalanche protocols] that quantify both property damage and deaths. The Austrian province of Vorarlberg is one place where such historical documents have been and still are used in schools in order to make children aware of the dangers of avalanche risks.
The institutionalisation of knowledge concerning avalanche risks began at the outset of the 20th century, with avalanche training courses available for alpine guides offered as early as 1902. But in general, there exists an international consensus that merely knowing the rules taught in such courses is not sufficient; this must be supplemented by local knowledge. Such experiential knowledge used to be conveyed through years of exchange between experienced alpine guides and their colleagues-in-training.
Increasing tourism in the Alps, along with the sustained popularity of winter sports, has resulted in an entirely new group of people over the past few decades who now represent the lion’s share of avalanche victims—and whose protection represents a new challenge. So for the active bearers of this tradition, the average annual figure of 25 avalanche deaths in Austria is a clarion call to both further augment the body of knowledge about avalanches and continue efforts to implement appropriate measures.


Back

Verzeichnis des Immateriellen Kulturerbes in Österreich

Erfahrungswissen im Umgang mit der Lawinengefahr

Antragsteller: Alpinarium und Gemeinde Galtür, Lawinenkommission Gargellen, Montafoner Museen, Österreichischer Alpenverein, Österreichischer Berg- und Schiführerverband
Bundesland: Kärnten, Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich, Salzburg, Steiermark, Tirol, Vorarlberg
Bereich: Wissen und Praktiken in Bezug auf die Natur und das Universum

Der alpine Lebensraum fordert von seinen BewohnerInnen eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem hochkomplexen Phänomen Lawine. Die Aneignung von Wissen über Lawinen ist seit Beginn der Nutzung des Alpenraums notwendig, um dort überleben zu können. Bis heute sind Lawinen nicht vollständig durch die Wissenschaft berechen- und vorhersagbar. Umso höher ist daher der Stellenwert von Erfahrungswissen im Umgang mit der Lawinengefahr. Dieses Erfahrungswissen ist zum Teil ortsbezogen und wird durch alpine Organisationen, innerhalb der Familie bzw. in der Schule weitergegeben. Der Erwerb von Wissen erfolgte in der Vergangenheit durch intensive Naturbeobachtung und den schmerzhaften Lernprozess nach Lawinenkatastrophen. Die Vermittlung und Tradierung dieses Erfahrungswissens geschah jahrhundertelang mündlich von einer Generation zur nächsten. Seit dem 20. Jahrhundert – verstärkt ab den 1950er Jahren – wird es von wissenschaftlichen Forschungen ergänzt. So hat sich im Laufe der Zeit der Schutz des Siedlungsraumes und der Verkehrswege sukzessive verbessert und das Wissen im Umgang mit der Lawinengefahr wird heute von lokalen und überregionalen Gemeinschaften in den Bereichen Sicherheit, Bildung, Technik und Rettungswesen vermittelt und angewendet.

Das Wissen um Lawinengefahren ist so alt wie die Besiedlung und Nutzung des Alpenraums. Die Überlieferung erfolgte vor allem mündlich innerhalb der Familien und betroffenen beruflichen Gemeinschaften (Jäger, Bauern etc.). Das Wissen manifestierte sich auch in Bauernregeln. Die Benennung von jährlich wiederkehrenden Lawinen nach den örtlichen Flur- und Hofnamen drückt eine starke Beziehung zum Naturereignis Lawine aus. Schriftliche Aufzeichnungen zu Lawinen gibt es im Alpenraum seit dem 17. Jahrhundert, dokumentiert wurden vor allem Schadenslawinen. Im Montafon beispielsweise gibt es über 200 Jahre Aufzeichnungen über Lawinenkatastrophen, sogenannte Lawinenbriefe, die jeweils die Zahl der Schäden und Toten festhielten. Diese Lawinenbriefe wurden und werden beispielsweise in Vorarlberg heute noch in den Schulen verwendet, um Kinder für die Lawinengefahr zu sensibilisieren.
Eine Institutionalisierung des Wissens im Umgang mit der Lawinengefahr fand bereits Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts statt, seit 1902 etwa können BergführerInnen Lawinenausbildungskurse belegen. Allgemein herrscht international Konsens darüber, dass das in Ausbildungen vermittelte Regelwissen allein nicht ausreicht, sondern unbedingt durch lokales Erfahrungswissen ergänzt werden muss. Dieses Erfahrungswissens wurde in der Vergangenheit in jahrelangem Austausch zwischen erfahrenen und angehenden BergführerInnen vermittelt.
Die zunehmende touristische Nutzung des alpinen Raums und die anhaltende Begeisterung für Schneesport brachten in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine völlig neue Zielgruppe hervor, die heute den Großteil der Lawinenopfer ausmacht und deren Schutz eine neue Herausforderung darstellt. Die Zahl von im Schnitt 25 Lawinentoten pro Jahr in Österreich ist für die eingebundenen TraditionsträgerInnen ein klarer Auftrag, das Wissen über Lawinen zu erweitern und geeignete Maßnahmen zu setzen.


Zurück